|
Print This Post Print This Post

Backup Your iPhone Or iPod Touch

http://emovilpro.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2008/04/iphone.jpgIf you want to upgrade your firmware you must create a backup of your iPhone or iPod before you do something else. So here are the steps you have to follow according to Apple.

Creating a Backup

Backups can be created in the following ways:

  • If you have configured your iPhone or iPod touch to automatically sync with iTunes on a specific computer, iTunes will back up the iPhone or iPod touch after you connect it to that computer and sync with iTunes. iTunes will not automatically back up an iPhone or iPod touch that is not configured to sync with that computer. iTunes only makes one backup each time you connect, even if you sync multiple times before disconnecting.
  • If you choose to update the software, iTunes will back up the iPhone and iPod touch automatically.
  • If you choose to restore the software to factory settings, iTunes will ask you if you want to back up the iPhone and iPod touch. The backup created when you restore a device is separate from the one create when the device is synced. The backup created prior to a restore is marked in the syncing preferences of iTunes with the date and time when the backup was created.

Restoring from a Backup

To restore information from a backup:

  1. Connect the iPhone to the computer you normally sync with.
  2. In iTunes, select the Summary tab and click Restore (this erases all data on iPhone). When prompted, select the option to restore your settings.
    Notes:
    • Information you can sync from the computer (e.g., photos, videos, songs) that are not stored in the back up will need to be resynced. Photos you take with iPhone are included in the backup with iPhone software 1.1 and later.
    • Your passwords will need to be entered again if your restore your backup to a different device.
    • If you restored to a different iPhone, you will need to reactivate Visual Voicemail.

Deleting a Backup

If you want to delete a backup created by iTunes, follow these steps in iTunes 7.5 or later:

  1. Open iTunes Preferences:
    Windows: Choose Edit > Preferences.
    Mac: Choose iTunes > Preferences.
  2. Click Syncing (iPhone or iPod touch does not need to be connected).
  3. Select the backup you want to remove and click Remove Backup.
  4. Confirm you wish to remove the selected backup by clicking Remove Backup.
  5. Click OK to close the iTunes Preferences Window.


Share this post : :


Write a Comment

Comments for this post will be closed in 6 days.

Rss fermer